Green typewriter with Time to Win on paper

The IFWTWA EXCELLENCE IN JOURNALISM AWARD, launched on January 1, 2015, recognizes superior performance by IFWTWA member journalists. This is a self-nomination program.

Eligibility Criteria:

• Regular member of IFWTWA in good standing
• Complete and submit the “Excellence in Journalism Nomination Form
• Submit a published article or blog post on the subject of food, wine, travel, or any combination thereof
• Publication date must be within two years of the self-nomination date
• Administrative fee per entry is $15 payable when article is submitted for consideration
• No limit to the number of entries a Regular member may submit in a given year
• Losing entries may be resubmitted in subsequent years
• Nominations must be received between January 1 and October 31
• Nominations received after October 31 will be considered in the following year




IFWTWA Excellence in Journalism Award


Evaluation Criteria:

Each entry is carefully and objectively evaluated by the IFWTWA Awards Committee using established evaluation criteria. The evaluation includes the following:

• Technical elements: grammar, spelling, punctuation
• Originality and creativity in the treatment of a subject
• Clarity and structure of the composition
• Accuracy of facts and details



Winners receive:

• Cash prize
• Award announcement in PRESS PASS and across all IFWTWA social media outlets
• Excellence in Journalism Award certificate presented by the President of IFWTWA

The number of awards given in a year is at the discretion of the IFWTWA Awards Committee.